Synonymous with urban renewal

The foundation of all Spirtas projects is safety, a practice that mandates deliberate action and constant awareness.

Synonymous with urban renewal

The foundation of all Spirtas projects is safety, a practice that mandates deliberate action and constant awareness.

Do You Have a Property Redevelopment Project We Can Help With?

Contact Us Today!

Spirtas Profile

For over 60 years, the name Spirtas has been synonymous with St. Louis urban renewal. What began as a local dismantling and hauling company founded by Joe Spirtas in the 1950’s, has evolved into a pace-setting industrial service firm that provides construction solutions for various customers nationwide, Canada, US Virgin Islands & Puerto Rico.

The foundation of all Spirtas projects is safety, a practice that mandates deliberate action and constant awareness. Safety impacts multiple levels: Spirtas employees, owners, the general public and the environment. Our Environmental Health and Safety department tracks compliance and conducts routine drug testing. Since its importance cannot be overestimated, safety training is the first step to employment at Spirtas.

Our emphasis on safety parallels our commitment to maintaining the highest ethical standards. All Spirtas employees receive federally approved, mandatory ethics training focusing on environmental compliance. Spirtas is committed to doing the right thing to protect our employees, our clients, the environment and the public we serve.

Spirtas Wrecking Company’s dedicated professionals are committed to project integrity and complete customer satisfaction. Our principals, operational staff, construction personnel, engineering and management staff, IT specialists, and departments of finance and accounting, purchasing, safety and transportation all work together to form a focused, winning team. Having razed thousands of buildings both nationally and in and around St. Louis, the Spirtas team stays current with changes and trends, backing extensive experience with continued education and training.

Effective construction management and partnering enables Spirtas to provide owners with a turnkey operation that offers the efficiency and convenience of single source responsibility. Equipped with the newest technology and a specially outfitted equipment arsenal, Spirtas professionals welcome challenging projects and opportunities to employ their equipment, expertise and versatility.

For swift, deliberate action under extreme circumstances, Spirtas is the name to call. Whether it’s a fire, a building collapse, an explosion or a chemical spill, Spirtas quickly mobilizes emergency response teams to assist general contractors, developers, the government and the private sector. When addressing catastrophes such as floods or tornados, Spirtas identifies problems and strategically mobilizes for action.

Spirtas bidding procedures highlight flexibility. In addition to the standard bidding process, Spirtas also operates on a lump sum award, negotiated contract and cost plus basis.

Spirtas is fully registered and nationally licensed, and maintains all proper permits and authorizations required. We carry the highest quality insurance coverage and best bonding in the industry. Our commitment to providing the most efficient, cost-effective construction methods supported by the latest technology is underscored by our resolve to offer customers maximum protection and a responsible approach to risk management.

Our Team

J. Matthew Sheehan  President/CEO  matt.sheehan@spirtas.com  314-290-2557 
Bud Watkins  Project Supervisor  bud.watkins@spirtas.com  314-750-4725 
David Gaines  Project Supervisor  david.gaines@spirtas.com  636-299-2201 
David Nagel  Operations Manager  david.nagel@spirtas.com  314-290-2530 
Dorethea White  Accounts Receivable Manager  dorethea.white@spirtas.com  314-290-2512 
Jean Weber  Accounts Payable Manager  jean.weber@spirtas.com  314-290-2562 
Jeff Lacavich  Senior Project Manager  jeff.lacavich@spirtas.com  314-290-2523 
Jim O’Connell  Project Manager  jim.oconnell@spirtas.com  314-290-2564 
Larry Thornton  Project Supervisor  larry.thornton@spirtas.com  314-750-4753 
Mike Feltmann  Senior Project Manager  mike.feltmann@spirtas.com  314-267-4190 
Rose Davis  Payroll Manager  rose.davis@spirtas.com  314-290-2561 
Mary Schaefer  Contract Administrator  mary.schaefer@spirtas.com  314-290-2529 
Noreen Gallagher  Corporate Secretary  noreen.gallagher@spirtas.com  314-290-2534 
Philip Kennedy  Director of National Accounts  philip.kenneday@spirtas.com  3135069440 
Ray Seaman  Project Supervisor  ray.seaman@spirtas.com  314-750-4917 
S. Todd Dickson  Director of National Estimation and Project Manager  todd.dickson@spirtas.com  314-341-1151 
Sharon Dailey  Estimating Administrator  sharon.dailey@spirtas.com  314-290-2518 
Stanley Lewandowski, C.I.H.  Director of Environmental Health & Safety  stanley.lewandowski@spirtas.com  314-290-2517 

Project Work

Just a few of the projects we have had the honor of being involved in.

VIEW MORE PROJECTS

Are you Ready to Renew Your Space?

For swift, deliberate action under extreme circumstances, Spirtas is the name to call.

Contact Us Today!

We are excited to hear from you.